Beatitudes: The Happiness That Nobody Wants – Those Who Mourn – Part 1

The history of humankind is marked with tears. We start our life crying. During our younger years we go through changes and many times mourning is the response that we have. When we become adults, we start understanding the world and its deepest problems and we cannot do anything else but cry.

And finally, when we grow old and the end of the life is upon us, we sometimes are full of regret and fear of death, among other feelings that make us cry.

We, as human beings, have many reasons to cry, such as:









And the list could go on and on.

In the last posts we saw the first Beatitude, for the “Poor in Spirit”.

They are blessed because they recognize that they are impotent and cannot do or be what God asks them. They depend totally on the grace and mercy of God to be and do what God and His Word require from them.

It is important for us to understand that the Beatitudes are connected with one another. They are steps toward the same goal, THE HAPPINESS THAT COMES FROM GOD.

In this post we will see the next one:

Matt. 5:4 “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. 

Two words are central in this verse: the word “mourn” and the word “comfort”. The word mourn means: “to mourn, to grieve, to be sorrowful.” The word used here is the strongest one among the others that mean mourn. It is the mourning for the loss of the most precious thing in somebody’s life.

But here Jesus is talking about the crying and mourning for something different; the reason for this mourning is the consequence of the first step after entering in the Kingdom of God, the state of being “Poor in Spirit”.

Like the other Beatitudes, this one also does not make sense at first sight. How can I be blessed and happy by being sad and mourning?

Let us see some reasons for the children of God to mourn and receive comfort for that.


The first reason is to mourn for our own sins and shortcomings. After recognizing that we are poor in spirit, the next step is to look inside our own soul and life, and realize how far we are from God’s Standards.

The first attitude that we have to have is to be sorry for our sins. And repentance is the next step. We have to recognition our faults and errors. Paul wrote to the Corinthians about this to tell them that Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation. Let us see some examples in the Scriptures.

A – The Sinful Woman – When a woman came to Jesus and washed his feet with her tears, she was condemned by the people in the house, but Jesus made sure to tell her that those who are forgiven much, love much. Luke 7:47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven — for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.” 

When we recognize our sins, and realize how much we offended God, we will not have another attitude, but mourning.

B – The Sinful King – David – David had the same attitude when he wrote the Psalm 32, there he said: 

“Psa. 32:1-5 Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven; whose sins are covered. Blessed is the man whose sin the LORD does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit. When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. Selah. Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD” — and you forgave the guilt of my sin.” 

David even mentioned the pain that his sins caused him.

It is important for us to understand that it is this kind of mourning that Jesus is mentioning.

When we are able to see our sinfulness, how much we sadden God with our attitudes, words, thoughts and feelings, then those things should make us cry.

Have a blessed week,

Pastor Lucas

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.